How the pandemic changed me for the better

Abner Torres Martinez
3 min readJun 8, 2021

--

Hello everyone! We are already halfway through the year! How exciting! Although, I am very happy that we are almost out of this pandemic, I can’t help to think how hard this last year and a half has been for me and my family.

The pandemic caused the closure of the most magical place on Earth, Walt Disney World, a place I ventured to five days a week, eight hours a day. A few weeks later, I received the news that I was furloughed and out of the job temporarily. Not only I was out of the job, but so were my dad, mom, brother, and girlfriend, who all also work for Walt Disney World. Frustrated, lost, and confused, I didn’t know what my purpose in life was anymore.

Pre-Quarantine: I was at 195 pounds and gaining

During quarantine, I thought about my future and what was next for me. After some self-reflecting, I decided to better myself, physically, emotionally, intellectually, and mentally. I worked out every day for twice a day. I made healthier eating choices. I took on new hobbies that weren’t possible before such as photography and content creation. As a result of my choices, I lost 45 pounds, made new connections, and became a pro at creating content. Towards the end of quarantine, I decided to go to grad school, and pursue something no other person in my family has pursued before, a master’s degree.

I lost 45 pounds during quarantine, and was at a weight of 150 pounds

Quarantine came to an end, Walt Disney World opened from closure, and I soon got the call to return back to work. Unfortunately, my mom got a different call, one that informed her that she had been laid off. My family and I were devasted and left confused once again. Then we remembered that all you need is faith, trust, and a little bit of pixie dust to get back on your feet. I continued to support the family as my mom did some self-reflecting on what she’ll do next. Several months passed by, and next thing you know, she got the call to come back to her role at Walt Disney World! It was such a relief, not only for my mom, but for our entire family.

Halloween 2020: Covid-19 Edition at Walt Disney World

The last year and a half has been hard for me and my family. However, it has shaped me into the person I am today. A person that is physically, emotionally, and mentally healthier. A person who took on new habits and hobbies that weren’t feasible before. A person who is in graduate school, writing this assignment for you all to read and learn from. If you took anything away from this story, it’s to be strong, because things will get better. It may be stormy now, but it never rains forever.

--

--